Planning SciFore '08 : First Meeting of Academicians at Patna

Venue: Bihar Chamber of Commerce, Patna
Date: 27th July'2008

With objective of planning the 'Scientific Foresight-2008', A meeting was held, under the chairmanship of Dr. Ashok Kumar Ghosh, Prof-In-Charge, Department of EWM, A. N. College, Patna (Bihar) at Bihar Chamber of Commerce on 27th July'2008.The meeting was attended by many academicians from different institutions of Bihar .

The meeting was initiated with the key note address by Dr. Ashok Kumar Ghosh. Dr. Ghosh explained the vision, theme, and objectives of the 'Scientific Foresight-2008'. He clearly explained the purpose of organizing this creative event and also explained the need for such event for students of Bihar.

This was followed by an open discussion for the finalization of technical sessions. The following suggestions were put forward:
· Dr. B. K. Sharma, NIT, Patna suggested inclusion of a session for Basic Sciences and Research, particularly in the area of Genetics.
· Dr. Uday Pathak, Director, Mahavir Vatsalya Sansthan, Patna requested to include Health and Medicine, till now generally ignored by scientific community.
· Atul Aditya Pandey, Department of Geology, P.U. suggested that technical session be categorized into major subjects area, and then further sub bifurcated into sub-theme areas.
· A common question raised was that the program dates should not affect normal activities of institutions involved.
· Dr. Ashok Ghosh strongly recommended for parallel sessions to make interactions interesting and specific for specific audience. He requested all such educational & research institutions to take come forward for undertaking the responsibility of conducting these parallel technical sessions.
· Mrs. Aparajita, Patna Women's College, Patna suggested that based upon our experience gained from organizing previous such events we can improve our delivery structure.
· Mr. Sushant Kumar Singh, Jawaharlal Nehru Fellow, Dept. of EWM, A. N. College, Patna suggested that it would be better to convey the message to all the core committee for technical sessions to prepare and finalize sub-themes, and circulate copies of the same in the next meeting.
· Involvement of local people: There was also emphasis on involving more and more local people that is from small town colleges. It was a significant point as Prof Rajmani spoke about his experiences and interaction with some girl students from Darbhanga, according to him it was really great exposure for these girls and they were very happy to be part of it and participate in the event. All the members agreed upon it as it was felt it will be great platform and once in life time kind of experience for the small town students to get this kind of exposure.
· Decentralizing the event: Most of the members agreed for decentralization of the event they felt with increase in number of participants, the numbers of papers and also the lack of quality papers it will be great if the event is decentralized that is each topic is allotted a different venue and only the best of papers are presented at the main venue that is S.K memorial hall, a potential list of decentralized venues was also made which included:
1. Biscoman Bhawan (Nalanda Open Univrsity)
2. B.N College
3. Patna College
4. Patna Science college
5. Patna women's college
6. A.N College

Decisions taken: Following decisions were undertaken -
1. There will be three session:
a. Inaugural & Concluding session to be held at SK Memorial Hall
b. Parallel technical sessions in different institutions at Patna
c. Joint session for popular science lectures at SK Memorial Hall.

2. Total Six major subject areas were identified for technical sessions and the core committees for the concerned major subject area were constituted:
a. Engineering & Technology- Dr. B. K. Sharma, NIT, Patna
b. Medicine & Life Sciences- Dr. Uday Pathak, Director, Mahavir Vatsalya Hospital, Patna
c. Earth & Environmental Sciences- Atul Aditya Pandey, Dept. of Geology, P.U.
d. Mathematical & Statistics- Prof. A. K. Sinha, HOD, Dept. of Statistics, PU
e. Physical Sciences- Prof. J. Thakur, PU
f. Chemical Sciences- Prof. L. K. Mishra, HOD, Dept. of Chemistry, PU
3. The core committees were requested to identify sub areas of the different sessions and submit the same in the first week of August,2008
4. The proposed timeline was accepted.
5. Dr. Atul Aditya Panday was requested to prepare the draft of the First call letter for inviting abstracts.
6. It was also decided that all Events of SF 08 will be notified through different electronic and print media.
7. It was suggested that Mr. Narayan Moorthi, Dr. R.K.Pachauri or Mr. Bill Gates be invited as a chief guest.

Prof. Girija Head, Dept. of Physics, Patna Women's College
Md. Shahnawaz Ali Asst. operations Manager, Digitech Solutions
Dr. A.N.Sahay HOD, Electronics Eng, RPSIT, Patna
Dr. Rakesh Kr. Singh Physics Dept, Patna Women's College
Dr. Atul Aaditya Pandey Science College, Patna
Sushant Kr. Singh A.N.College
Dr. Ramakant Pandey P.U., Patna
Dr. Uday Pathak Director, Mahavir Vatsalya Hospital
Dr. Irshad Ali Dept. Of Chemistry, B.N.College, Patna
Anant Kumar Dept. Of Comp Sc, J.D.Womens College, Patna
Dr. Kamal Kishore Singh Dept. Of Chemistry, A.N.College, Patna
Dr. Bihari Singh Head, P.G. Dept. of Life sciences, A.N.College, Patna
Dr. Arun Kumar H.O.D. Electronics, A.N.College, Patna
Prof. A.Yadav Retd. Prof. of Physics, P.U., Ex VC, Bihar University.
Dr. Om Prakash Prof., Dept. of Mechanical Engg., NIT, Patna
Dr. N.S.Maurya NIT, Patna
Er. A.K.Baxi VIT, Patna
Dr. B.K.Sharma NIT, patna
Dr. Santosh Kumar B.S.College, Danapur
Dr. Ashok Ghosh A.N.College, Patna
Dr. Rajmani Pd. Sinha Dept. of Physics, P.U., Patna
Dr. Aprajita Krishna Patna Women's College